The Center for Plain Language is a 501(c)(3), non-profit organization. We help government agencies and businesses write clearly.

The Center for Plain Language is run by an elected executive board. Members serve 3 year terms. Elections are held each spring. If you are interested in running for the board, contact Rebecca Gholson (

Board of Directors

Susan Kleimann, Chair (President, Kleimann Communication Group)
Karen Baker, Vice Chair (Senior Vice President, Healthwise)
Brian Berkenstock, Corporate Secretary (Content Strategist, Aetna)
Julie Clement, Treasurer (Principal, J Clement Communications)

Rohit Bhargava (Human Marketer, Keynote Speaker)
Deborah Bosley (Principal, The Plain Language Group)
Christopher “Chip” Crane (CEO, CPoint Consulting)
Joanne Locke (Principal, J. Locke Plain Language Consulting)
Steven R. Rush (Director, UnitedHealth Group Health Literacy Innovations Program)
Kath Straub (Principal, Usability.Org)
Michael Villaire (Chief Executive Officer for the Institute for Healthcare Advancement)
Meghan Codd Walker (Principal, Zuula Consulting)

Executive Director:  Rebecca Gholson, Independent Plain Language Consultant
Deputy Executive Director: Andrea “Deedee” Moxley, Associate Director, Multicultural Resources at The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA)