Looking for a consultant to jumpstart your plain language project or program? Consultants listed here help organizations with

  • plain language writing
  • information design
  • training
  • content testing
  • talks and keynotes
  • plain language program development (and organizational change) strategy

Some groups specialize in topics such as health literacy, law, science, or finance. In addition, these groups may also provide related services, including consumer research, usability testing, web content strategy, or organizational change consulting.

Please note:

Companies seeking consultants

The Center for Plain Language presents the consultant list as a service to the community. These organizations are not endorsed by the Center for Plain Language. Each group pays $100/year for their listing. In addition, they agree to abide by the Center for Plain Language Code of Professional Ethics.

You should verify the credentials of the consultant you choose just as you would with any new vendor.

Consultants: Want your company listed here?

Members in good standing can list their company for $100/year. If you need to join or renew, please complete that step first.

Add your company
clogo_hookPR

www.hookpr.com

Contact:
Patricia Rivera
patricia@hookpr.com
+1.302.228.6689

Located in
Lewes, DE

Plainly

Plainly Speaking | Waterwood Communications Corp.
www.plainlyspeaking.ca

Contact:
Nicole d'Entremont
nicole@plainlyspeaking.ca
+1.613.608.7668

Located in
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Graves Fowler

www.gravesfowler.com

Contact:
Terry Graves
terry@gravesfowler.com
+1.301.816.0097 x304

Located in
Gaithersburg, MD

logo Fehr Editorial

Fehr Editorial Services, Inc.
fehreditorial.com

Contact:
Jack Fehr
jackfehr@fehreditorial.com
linkedin.com/in/financialwriterjackfehr
+1.201.933.1714

Located in
Rutherford, NJ

logo_goldenapple

www.GoldAppleServices.com

Contact:
Cynthia M. Campbell, EdD
cmcampbell@GoldAppleServices.com
+1.443.755.0820

Located in
Baltimore/Washington DC

Clement

www.jclementcommunications.com

Contact:
Julie Clement info@jclementcommunications.com +1.517.402.4271

Located in
Portland, MI

clogo_kleimann

www.kleimann.com

Contact:
Susan Kleimann
skleimann@kleimann.com
+1.301.233.2844

Located in
Washington, DC

Writingforresults

Writing for Results Inc.
http://WritingForResults.net/templates

Contact:
Rob Parkinson

Located in
Canada

CPoint

cpointconsulting.com

Contact:
Chip Crane
cecrane@cpointconsulting.com
+1.410.507.6938

Located in
Washington, DC; Annapolis, MD

Elite Documentation logo

www.elitedocumentation.com

Contact:
Daniel Maddux
dmaddux@elitedocumentation.com
+1.713.742.3341

Located in
Houston, TX
and Temple, TX

clogo_zuula

www.zuulaconsulting.com

Contact:
Meghan Walker
meghan@zuulaconsulting.com
+1.804.643.2080

Located in
Richmond, VA

Rainwood Policies

www.rainwoodp2.com

Contact:
Amy Woodfin
awoodfin@rainwoodp2.com
+1.888.425.3042

Located in
Vancouver, WA

Ewrite Online logo

ewriteonline.com

Contact:
Leslie O'Flahavan
leslie@ewriteonline.com
+1.301.989.9583

Located in
Silver Spring, MD

clogo_zuula

Freelance Medical Writer and Editor

Contact:
Charlotte Crowder, MPH, ELS
charlotte.crowder@myfairpoint.net
+1.207.326.8924

Located in
Brooksville, Maine

clogo_redish

www.redish.net

Contact:
Janice (Ginny) Redish
ginny@redish.net
+1.301.229.3039

Located in
Bethesda, MD

Deerpath company

Deerpath

Contact:
Dr. Dees Stallings
dstallings@deerpathonline.net
+1.410.867.6172

Located in
Annapolis/Lothian, MD

circuit_media

Circuit Media LLC
www.circuitmedia.com

Contact:
Rebecca Askew
info@circuitmedia.com
+1.303.292.1212

Located in
Denver, CO; Washington, DC

Edward

www.linkedin.com/in/edwardvanarsdall

Contact:
Edward VanArsdall
evanarsdall@gmail.com
+1.703.201.6433

Located in
Alexandria, VA

The Plain Language Group

www.theplainlanguagegroup.com

Contact:
Deborah S. Bosley, Ph.D.
deborah@theplainlanguagegroup.com
+1.704.523.1282

Located in
Charlotte, NC

CScience

content-science.com

Contact:
Colleen Jones

+1.770.999.0697

Located in
Atlanta, GA; Richmond, VA

clogo_cntrclrcomm

www.centerforclearcommunication.com

Contact:
Carolyn Boccella Bagin
clearly@aol.com
+1.301.340.1747

Located in
Rockville, MD

Write Source

www.thewritesourceinc.com

Contact:
Janet Arrowood
janet.c.arrowood@gmail.com

Located in
Denver, Phoenix, Nationwide, International

clogo_acsi

acsitranslations.com

Contact:
Andres Echeverri
andres@acsitranslations.com
+1.202.618.1455

Located in
Washington, DC

Clear Writing Consultants

www.ClearWritingConsultants.com

Contact:
Sarah Snyder
consultant@ClearWritingConsultants.com
+1.571.207.8853

Located in
D.C. Metropolitan Area
(works nationwide)

Luto Research

Luto Research
Lutoresearch.com

Contact:
kkobilca@lutoresearch.com
+1.708.406.6531

Located in
Chicago, IL; Leeds, United Kingdom

clogo_usability_R1

usability.org

Contact:
Kath Straub
kath@usability.org
1.844.887.2253

Located in
Washington, DC
and Tucson, AZ

logo executive writer

www.executivewriter.com

Contact:
Kevin Ryan
kevin@executivewriter.com
+1.801.553.0906

Located in
Sandy, UT

Shae Irving

www.shaeirving.com

Contact:
Shae Irving
shaeirving@gmail.com

Located in
San Francisco Bay Area

clogo_presshere

www.pressherejg.com

Contact:
Jana Goldman
pressherejg@gmail.com
+1.301.585.3607

Located in
D.C. Metropolitan Area

Kimble

kimblewritingseminars.com

Contact:
Joe Kimble, Professor Emeritus
kimblej@cooley.edu
+1.517.930.0518

Located in
Lansing, Michigan

CommunicateHealth

CommunicateHealth, Inc.
www.communicatehealth.com

Contact:

admin@communicatehealth.com
+1.413.582.0425

Located in
Northampton, MA and Rockville, MD

More Carrot

More Carrot
morecarrot.com

Contact:
Cori Stevens
mail@morecarrot.com
+1.978.498.4028

Located in
Boston, MA; Luxembourg

CRL

www.colleenryanleonard.com

Contact:
Colleen Ryan Leonard
colleenryanleonard@gmail.com
+1.410.353.6225

Located in
Annapolis, MD

Mark Painter

Mark P. Painter
www.judgepainter.org

Contact:
Mark Painter
jugpainter@aol.com

Located in
Cincinnati, OH

Siegel

www.siegelgale.com

Contact:
Patrick Gough
pgough@siegelgale.com

Located in
New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, London, Dubai, Shanghai

Add your company
MENU